Best Tips for Improving Slalom Technique ?

Hey everyone,

I am relatively new to slalom skiing and looking to improve my technique. I’ve been skiing for a few months now and can get up and make some turns but I want to get better and more efficient. What are the best tips or drills for refining my slalom technique ? Are there common mistakes beginners make that I should be aware of ? Also, any gear recommendations for intermediate skiers would be helpful.

I searched this article on internet: https://www.watersportswarehouse.co.za/slalom-water-skiing-tips-splunk/  it contains helpful tips but I want more tips on it.

Thanks a lot for your help.

With regards,

Marcos

• Baller

My advice is go and get proper coaching right at the start. I did not do this because I did not know where to go in my country and to go to USA was a few thousand dollars. So I thought I would read a few books practice and if I got half decent I would then maybe have a holiday to a ski school. THIS WAS A HUGE MISTAKE, being self taught I learn't wrong. I have spent tens of thousands of dollars since just in gas trying to unlearn my bad techniques.

IF I HAD MY TIME AGAIN I would book a trip to a ski school for first learning then use video coaching on here for development.

• Like 2

16 minutes ago, 101driver said:

My advice is go and get proper coaching right at the start. I did not do this because I did not know where to go in my country and to go to USA was a few thousand dollars. So I thought I would read a few books practice and if I got half decent I would then maybe have a holiday to a ski school. THIS WAS A HUGE MISTAKE, being self taught I learn't wrong. I have spent tens of thousands of dollars since just in gas trying to unlearn my bad techniques.

IF I HAD MY TIME AGAIN I would book a trip to a ski school for first learning then use video coaching on here for development.

Hey @101driver,