inversion tables

6balls

• Baller

Hello all,

I'm a doctor, I treat people all of the time, but have my own inherited spine issues. Specifically at this time lumbar spine having already had a L2-4 laminectomy. I have different symptoms now, seems to be from levels lower. I made it a lot worse in tennis league this winter--though I had a good year on win/loss record...the last four weeks I couldn't "go" and if I can't "go" it's the real deal.

Traction at PT today seemed to be one of the first things to help some. Main symptoms are very low back into glutes constantly but the glutes are not sore it's a deep nerve thing probably related to my spinal stenosis--I just would love to avoid a 4th spine surgery neck and back combined.

Anyhoo...there is not a lot of evidence for the efficacy of inversion tables. Some find help, some not...it's anecdotal stuff.

Out of curiousity, how many ballers have benefit from inversion tables who have real lumbar disease documented by symptom correlation to MRI? If beneficial, has it allowed you to extend your athletic endeavors?

THX all.

• Baller_

That IS my go to. BUT use with caution. And a lot of it. U can F-up your back with them. Some rules.

1. NEVER go past 45 degrees.

2. Alway go slowly to get to 45 (takes me 20mn titling little by little with pauses between). I can feel my myofascia release at each tilt before I tilt further

3. Alway go straight to a flat surface after (bed couch) and stay there for 30+ mn. I go straight to bed as I do this at night

4. Never use the table if your back is already hurting. It is a preventative device NOT a solution to pain.

5. PM me if you want to learn how to fashion a belt system that pulls from the waste and NOT the ankles and knees.

6. As you tilt slowly, try to relax and let the stretch happen.

Buy used. Tons of them out there on the dirt cheap.

If you have more money then ingenuity, buy a seated inversion table. 1000 times better then flat if you don’t modify the flat.