Wetsuit for tall female wknd skier

quinne

• Baller

I live in eastern NC and ski most weekends from May-Sept. I would love to extend that season by a month on either side but at my slightly older, wussier age I have less tolerance for being cold. I'm slim, tall (5'11") and female so most suits are made for shorter women.

I would appreciate suggestions on what brand and what kind of suit I need (shorty, full, zip up jacket w/ pants?).

Thanks!

Elissa

• Baller
Imo - I’ve been using O’Neil suits for 30+ years. Recently sent two twenty+ yr old suits to them for repairs and they came back like new. At 6’2” 170 the men’s medium tall sizing works great for me. My newest 2018 is an Epic long sleeve shorty, blind stichted, glued and taped seams. The Epic 3/2 full suit has the same features.

• Baller

I have a mens 2/3 millimeter XL sized full back zip O’Neill that our neighbor borrows in the early season. She’s 5’11’ and it fits her fairly well. Me being 6’5 and pushing 240 it’s too small but it fit me well when I was in the 190 to 210 range in my youth.

If you can try some on, don’t be afraid to try some men’s suits. Our neighbor says she often finds some of the men’s watersports gear fits her better than the women’s stuff as the sizes have a bit more length to them.

I’d say focus on fit/feel and not worry about brand, size and men’s or women’s size if you can try a few on.

• Baller
Thanks for the feedback from everyone. I'm definitely open to a men's suit. I'm around 130lbs so it would need to be on the smaller side. Probably leaning towards a shorty since we winterize the boat before temps get too low anyway.

• Baller

Elissa,

try one of the Camaro long sleeve shortys (Blacktec or Titanium).

They come in unisex sizes and considering how thin (and flexible) the material is, they are surprisingly warm and also almost watertight.

My wife is a pretty tall (6’1”) and slim (155lbs) person and she fits perfect in her Size M Camaro.