For those working perfecting stack position

lkb

• Baller

I’ve been skiing for a 18 yrs. At my peak I got through 35 at 34mph pretty often, even though I have always skied in a jackknife position.

I know now I need to learn to get stacked properly.

I use a reflex front and a rtp. Today was the first time ever that I have really really tried to get my pelvis over my front foot with a lot of ankle bend. It was a scary feeling but pretty amazing how high I could get on the boat on my gate pullout with little effort. What I really noticed was how much my back heel lifted off the ski. Is this normal or does it just mean my ankle flexibility is not good?

• Administrators

@lkb be careful about that heel lift. Often skiers fall back when they try to do that. I coach two feet flat on the ski with even pressure. Remember hips back is LITERALLY more back knee bend then front knee bend (if both are flat on the ski).

There are some elite pros that do what you are saying but I think it is a SUPER hard skill for most skiers + I need the strength of both legs at the wakes.

As far as the gate pull out - I do lift my heel a bit but that is the only place.

Goode HO Syndicate   KD Skis ★ MasterCraft ★ PerfSki  

Radar ★ Reflex ★ S Lines ★ Stokes

Drop a dime in the can

• Baller
My son and I use the same set-up as you. I ski jackknifed and tail heavy - my son is stacked with his pelvis over the front foot. He has told me that in order to get into the proper position he bends his FRONT ankle enough that his front heal pressures upward on the release (he said it was quite unnerving at first). I tried to get the feeling he was describing (yes it is unnerving) but the results were amazing when I got it. Yes - I was skiing on the balls of both my front and rear foot.

• Baller