Winterizing a 4 stroke outboard

WBLskier

• Baller
A little off topic but I'm not easily finding instructions on the internet. I have a 2004 25 hp 4 stroke honda outboard that I need to winterize this weekend. Does anyone have a step by step on what needs to be done they could share? Thanks.

• Baller
Yep not much to it, I had a 25 Yamaha on my old pontoon, I would fog it it in the water then pull the boat and tilt it up and down a couple times, leaving it in the full down position for storage, I kept the battery on a trickle and turned the motor over every 5-6 weeks but didn't try to start it. (This is something recommended on line by a lot of outboard owners not sure it's necessary).

• Baller

I'm not real familiar with the procedures for a 4-stroke but I've been winterizing 2-stroke outboards for over 40 years. I'm assuming here the engine is carburetted. The first thing I'd do is run the engine out of gas while squirting some fogging oil into the carb. That will make sure you don't have gas sitting in and varnishing up the float bowl and jets and you will get a bit of fogging oil coating inside the carb and intake side of the engine. Do this while the boat is in the water or out of the water with a set of ear muffs supplying water to the intakes.

Once the motor is out of the water, tilt it up and down to make sure the water is drained out of the engine jacket and water pump. You don't want any water freezing in there.

Unless you're using a special gearcase oil that's rated for multiple years use (like the expensive stuff Bombardier makes for Evinrude E-Tecs which you can leave in for 3 years) I would drain the gear oil and replace it with a fresh batch and replace the seals on the top and bottom gearcase screws. It may not be totally necessary to do this every year but the oil is cheap compared to the cost of the motor and a gearcase overhaul so why take the risk that some water got in there over the summer?