Spray oil into cylinder? Yes or no?

Tdub

I have been doing this for years on my 2004 SN. But is it really necessary? The more I think about it, what little oil is sprayed in the cylinder only lays on a small portion of the piston and cylinder wall. I do fog the engine while it is running and and sucking in the anti freeze. Thoughts?

Cheers.

Tom

• Baller

Yes you should, turn the engine a few revs with a socket while the plugs are still out.

That way you will spread the oil film on the cylinder wall.

Will also keep piston rings from getting stuck in the grooves from corroision and carbon buildup.

• Baller

Fogging is really a carry over from 2 strokes to get lubrication up in there before storage or before restarting an engine thats sat for a while.

I'd wager most of you have had a car sit around for months and never thought of fogging it...

I do fog down a carb, and I do fog through a TBI - but I don't think I'd bother pulling plugs to fog unless maybe it was sitting a long time, but I'd be more inclined to pull the distributor and spin the oil pump.

• Baller
On the new DI motors it seems like getting to the spark plugs would involve pulling the exhaust manifolds. I'm taking the risk that there's enough residual oil in the cylinder honing hashmarks to last 6mo. I stopped doing it on the GT40 a few years ago too.

• Baller
Above advice is good - YES still spray into chambers and turn over a few times with plugs out to distribute. Put plugs back in and ready for Spring. Antifreeze too of course as you already noted you're doing - but your processes should have your engine in good shape for many many years.

• Baller

interesting this topic came up - been thinking about it myself this week - 2nd year owning an inboard - didn't fog last year, but thinking of doing it this year.

My motor is EFI / no CATs - Indmar says you can spray through the intake. I just put new plugs in so I mostly wonder if either of these methods are gonna trash my plugs?