best 15 off 32 mph boat

Ridemx59

What are the best boats for learning to slalom behind. I am new to all this and currently have a txi and skied behind a nautique 196 and a older mastercraft they have a much flatter wake than my boat do I just deal with my boat or get something that is newbie friendly?

• Baller

What year Txi? It should be fine at 32 mph.

To tweak it, try putting about 30 to 40 lbs under the center cushion at the bow of the boat. And, be sure the boat is fairly level side to side using your passenger or weight.

• Baller

Great question. Private lake or big lake? A lot of inboards are fine with it. I was in similar situation but I’m on a big lake w/ a lot of coves to explore so my info is based off being on a big lake and being on water away from dock majority of the day and the marinas to get gas are spread out too.

From 2012 to October of 2017 i had a 1997 MC ProStar 205. Great family boat and being out on water all day on big lake. I was in between a 2012/13 ProStar 197 or a Malibu TXI. Could not do the Nautique 200 OB due to not as much storage and I believe smaller gas tank and heard it eats up gas faster due to more of the boat is in the water (but heard awesome slalom wake). Many folks from different forums all had similar comments on the TXI is better at slower speeds and all line lengths over the ProStar 197 (but man o man the ProStar 197 is beautiful boat). Big difference in wake between my old MC and my new to me TXI. I ended going with a 2015 6ltr TXI and its awesome, the wake at slower speeds and all line lengths is amazing, the body lines. I’m super happy. Nice storage all around, great wake for my kids, nice size gas tank. I’m in a nice big lake so i go cove to cove, open water skiing, also slalom course on the lake (buddy puts it up back in a cove), we also barefoot, knee board, wakeboard, tube, gonna get few things to wake surf with it too.

Hope that helps @Ridemx59

Respectfully

Moski

• Baller