Feet on Fire (literally)…. looking for advice on a barefoot burn

WiscoSkier

• Baller

Has anyone experienced burning a hole in their foot from barefooting?

I participated in a barefoot relay race and up until this event I had only heard rumors of this happening. Well let me tell you it is VERY possible! I am coming up on 55 days post injury with the remints of a very deep hole still in my foot. ( It started as a blister and turned into a crater). I was wondering if any ballers out there have experienced this injury and how long it has taken you or someone you know to recover from this injury. Are there any long term effects I should be worried about?

• Baller

I did it to my heel around 25 years ago barefooting and telling my buddy to whip me on a turn. I had to take a few weeks of work. I was a package car driver for UPS. Then made a pad for my heel with a cutout where the blister hole was so I could work. It was sore for a very long time. 25 years later and the spot is a hard callus that hurts once in a while. hqk43tb7w71l.jpg

• Baller
@foxriverat my guess is my foot will look like that eventually. The burn is also on my heal, luckily I don't need to walk much at work. I will never do a distance race again but would still enjoy front barefooting. did you have any issues footing after the injury?

• Baller

30 years or so ago a barefooter was trying to go about 85 mph with truly bare feet. It was noted in one of the water ski mags. He lost everything off one heal, to the bone.

I did 65 mph with bare feet. But, remembering what happened to that guy, when I began to feel the burn, I let go. No damage.

As crazy as 65 might sound, at that time Scott Pellaton had already clocked well over 130 mph, wearing booties. Insane.

• Baller