who mountain bikes and skis equally

ToddF

Well, I know the Salt Lake city area has excellant access to Gold Level mountain bike trails up in the Park City area and a few ski sites in the valley. And if Broadside Harbor near Boise has access the mountain biking in that area is very good also. I think there is also a couple ski lakes just out of Sun Valley ID. and the there is all kinds of great riding there. I spent time mountain biking in both places this last July while on a family vacation. Durning the summer months I am usually able to split my skiing and riding equally.

• Baller
Can you guys ride to the MTB trails or do you have to drive with your bike? I am thinking about getting a mountain bike but I would need to drive (20-45 min) to get to the trails and I am not sure how often I will do that.

• Baller

I've been skiing since I was 4 years old and have been a serious mountain biker for the last 28 years. I haven't found any exercise that completely keeps you in shape for skiing, other than skiing, but MTBing seems to come very close especially if you ride rocky technical trails because there is so much upper body involved in addition to lower body.

@Chef23 question is very relevant IMO because I find that people that have easy access to trails tend to be much more likely to stick with Mountain Biking. I'm very fortunate because I can ride my bike out of my basement door and have access to over 100 miles of trails without getting in a car. That's fairly rare given that I don't live out in a rural area. But then I again, I did buy my house based on the proximity to great trails. And it's a pretty unique area where we have a large state park and a very large section of airport buffer land within a metro area.