Thank you @OB Wan Kenobi, you were my only hope!

ScarletArrow

• Baller

I met @OB last year at one of the Bootsarosa tournaments. (Link) He's a good dude.

So when he made a request for donations to have his Atlanta Pro-Am webcast and sweetened the deal with the promise of a PB in 2014, well I couldn't resist. (Link) I mean, I've been chasing my tournament PB for 5 years!

So this weekend is our State Championships in Ohio. We technically have a separate tournament on Friday that's a Buckeye Buoy Tour with 2 rounds of slalom, plus a 3rd if you make the finals. Saturday is 1 round of slalom (had over 70 skiers!) followed by junior trick and jump. Sunday is adult trick and jump.

So my daughter started the season with a PB of 1@21mph LL. In July she hit a hot streak and gained 4 four passes. On Friday she got a new PB of 2@28mph, than back it up Saturday (with very little sleep and 2nd off the dock) 4@26mph!

She qualified for Regionals in a LCQ, so we're headed to Chicago!

My wife is the definition of optimism and perseverance. She can shadow buoys better than anyone, but that extra 1-2 feet needed to get around the buoy has been a barrier. "A piece of 2 ball" has been our goal all year. Novice rules in Ohio allow her to take 2 passes through the mini-course and get a mulligan on her opening pass through the main course for a guaranteed 4 passes.

On her first pass through the main course - she missed the gates, but pulled like a MF'er with shoulders back and arms straight all the way to 2 ball - she hit the buoy... let out a yelp the whole lake heard... let go of the handle... while still in the pulling position and took a nice spill. That's my girl. That's a PB (screw the gates!)