Do we really need a 6l to get 409hp?

Jefverstrom

When F1 reduced their engine size from V8 to V6 this year to reduce fuel consumption of the cars I was thinking why the boat companies don't do the same to our boats?

I think i speak for most of us here when I say we want those 409 (450 sometimes) horses for both slalom and jump but isn't there a better way to get the same amount of power from a smaller engine, like a turbocharged V6 or likewise.

Are they doing any testing with this? anyone know why it would work or why it wouldn't?

A smaller displacement motor wouldn't necessarily give you better fuel consumption if you were trying to get the same HP. The new F1 V6 is a turbo motor, I'm not sure if the speed control on a ski boat could handle keeping the boat from pulling the rope out of your hand when the turbo kicked in?

• Baller

Doesn't the 409 hp get better fuel economy than the 343 hp? I mean if you are just skiing at 34 or 36 all the time? I have little experience with the 409, but that is the rumor I have heard.........

Still waiting for toyota to give me the marine engine of my dreams in a new Nautique 200..........

• Baller
I believe it is a combination of HP and Torque that the challenge comes in. Torque for getting the skier up and out of the water and HP for that speed for jumping. If I am not mistaken this is one of the main reasons that MasterCraft went to ILMOR engines. Someone please correct me if I am wrong or misinformed.

• Baller
I dont think a turbo or super would work well in a boat. The speed control we have is trying to adjust the speed every second? Turbo and super have too much lag time for what we want. As a drag racing friend always says "there is no replacement for displacement."

• Baller_