knees

bkk

• Baller
There's a reputable clinic in Colorado. The three doctors there also run a clinic in (I believe) Saint Thomas. I think both clinics offer the full service. They grow stem cells from your bone marrow, which is better than harvesting them from your body fat.

• Baller

I am a veterinarian, and I did my first stem cell case last week. We extracted falciform fat (fat from inner portion of the abdominal wall at the naval) and activated the stem cells. They were then injected into the shoulders (the dogs main arthritis problem), knees and hips. It is my brothers 13 1/2 year old lab so it will be nice to closely monitor her progress. As this technology advances in both veterinary and human medicine, I think we will see benefits far greater than we initially though possible.

@MrB I believe the place in Denver is called Regenex.

I have chodromalacia (sp?) in my back leg knee. Which means cartilage on back side of knee cap is flaking off, has craters in it, and chunks stuck to the bearing surface. Tried PRP on it two months ago, no joy.

My knee surgeon is also my ski buddy, so we're going to try scoping it first to take out the mechanical chunks, then, while he's in there, a stem injection. This knee started to go bad playing soccer in college ('82). Along with my head starting to go bald. I thought they'd have this shit figured out by now.

• Baller
@coskier I had meniscus surgery in both my knees about a year ago (both at the same time - that was fun). It took me about 4 months of constant PT and rehab before everything felt normal. My PT told me that "motion is lotion" and that the more frequently I move and strengthen the area, the stronger the knee. This off season one of my exercises is box jumps so I'm a believer. Admittedly I did not have any other injury (ACL), however, diligent rehab is the way to go.

• Baller