"Goode"bye PowerVest?

SkiJay

• Baller

I’ve been skiing with a Goode PowerVest for the past three years, and I can’t fully express my appreciation for having had this clever device. After shattering the humeral ball in my shoulder into four pieces, skiing would not have been an option without it. But maybe the time has come to move on.

The vest is heavy, it needs regular costly replacement, and it’s a little bit restrictive. So I’m curious to see what skiing without it would be like now that my shoulder is back up to the task—I hope. I’m currently on day three, and it’s not going very well.

I used to come around the ball, hook up with the handle and boom, the straps were right there taking the load as I dropped back into the vest’s solid support. Now, I come around the ball and NO BOOM, only a vague variable sloppy group of muscles saying "what the hell are we supposed to do with all this load?!" It’s downright disconcerting! It’s like when someone yanking the chair out from behind you as you are sitting down!

I’m down a full pass as skiing tentatively is just not getting it done. But on the other hand, I’ve had a couple of very qualified opinions say that something always looked a little off before, but now it all looks like it should behind the boat. Hmmmmm

I didn’t realize how much the PowerVest was protecting an old back injury either. It’s not bad, but it’s there. So I’m conflicted. Should I build on the signs of success with “everything looks better than ever behind the boat,” or put the vest back on and get back to chasing balls with shoulder and back protection as a bonus?

Has anyone else out there left their PowerVest after extended time with it, and how did that go?

• Baller