Radar Senate or Senate C

espnman

First post. I've been skiing for 2 years and I'm starting to think my 71 Triumph is a bit too big for me. 6'1'' 230. I'm looking at either a 69 Senate or Senate C for an upgrade. I would describe my skill level as beginner/intermediate, mostly open water but I do have access to a course.

Any reason for me to drop the extra $200 on the C? Will I wish I did 2 years down the line?

Thanks for the help.

• Baller
@espnman I have the Senate and I like it. I'm -15 working on consistency at 34mph and it suits me fine for the time being. I'd say your decision should be based on what you foresee yourself doing. If you will continue to be mostly an open water skier with hitting the course only a couple times per year, stick with the Senate. If you see yourself committing more time in the course and devoting yourself to getting better at it, go with the C.

• Baller

I have to respectfully disagree with your statement Killer. I think one of the biggest mistakes beginning/intermediate skiers can make is buying way more ski than they're able to handle. I know I've certainly made that mistake. Too much ski without the ability to immediately use a significant percentage of what the ski has to offer will generally hold the average novice/intermediate skier back. Seen it happen numerous times. You want a ski that is within reach of your current ability with headroom to grow into but not so much that you can't get in touch with it right away. I've taken skiers off high end skis and put them on a "lower level" ski and seen them make immediate and significant progress due to being on a ski more forgiving and more suited for their current ability levels.

There are plenty of good deals on good mid level skis on Ski-It-Again if money is an issue. I'll never say never, however I don't see myself buying a brand new ski anytime soon with all the good 1 - 2 year old low mileage skis available on SIA for half of what they sell for new.