dowel removal strap-style gloves

6balls

• Baller

I've never understood why anyone would want to remove the dowel. I've been using clincher-style gloves for 10+ years and have never had a problem of not being able to release the handle. If you remove the dowel, dont you lose the benefit of the strap?

Garn

• Baller

@6balls If you are absolutely certain that you won't miss the dowels, then you can cut off the extra strap. Leaving the extra strap there is just recommended for those experimenting with what the gloves would be like without the dowels in case they want to put the dowels back in. The straps still can work without the dowels, but not as well.

Like @Garn, I too have never had a problem releasing the handle ... other than the problem of having to release it too often. But today I had a different problem. I popped the handle by accident, and the way the dowel released felt like it broke the two knuckles nearest my fingertips of the two fingers behind the dowel. They are really sore right now.

• Baller
Ski with the dowel and then try it without it. Just push the dowel out, don't remove the strap material. I know 5 or 6 guys that take the dowel out, including me. If the gloves are sized right, the web material provides a nice trap for the handle without the dowel. You should not be able to straighten your fingers if the gloves are the right size. At least, that was what I was told years ago by someone who had worn them forever..

I had 2 pair of masterline prolocks and like the fit of glove w/o dowel. Ordered a new pair of prolocks in August and the strap was over one inch longer than previous two pairs. Couldn't use them without dowl. Called Masterline and they said most liked longer strap. I sold them to a friend and ordered Radar Vice which I now think is a much betted glove.

• Baller

For years I removed the Dowel from the hand that faced UP...Seems like it would only hang up during a Tournament....Leave the material there, it helps with the grip.