Ski Tournament Suggestions

DkLkSkr

• Baller

In an effort to get more people and new skiers involved in waterskiing, I came up with a tournament on our lake that creates a friendly atmosphere while allowing any ability level to win. It is a standard one round ski against yourself tournament. Everyone is placed in the same division and you ski against your personal best. The person that does the best in comparison to their personal best wins.

After skiing for the first time this year in tournaments, it got me thinking about how to create another tournament or tweak this one that could give more variety and gain more interest. Does anyone have any suggestions for a tournament that that would be a fresh idea? What are people's favorite tournament formats to enter? If you could explain the format briefly that would be helpful as well, since I am new to tournament skiing.

• Baller

We often do something similar to skiing against your best, but borrowing the handicap concept from golf. The key differences are:

1) The baseline is your AWSA ranking score (except that any penalties are not applied -- that would give an unfair advantage to a skier with fewer tournaments). If a skier has only one tournament, we might go back two years to get enough scores. If a skier has no scores, they can't participate in the handicapping portion.

2) The handicap is a fraction of the gap from you to Open -- typically 95%. What this does is give a slightly smaller amount of extra buoys to a "worse" skier. Without this, it's nearly impossible for a high-end skier to ever win, because for somebody stuck on a plateau, a 1 buoy PB might be a monster day, whereas somebody on the steep part of the learning curve might bust out a PB of more than a pass.

3) Round the handicap to the nearest 1/4 buoy, to avoid the post-handicap scores looking really bizarre.