Had my first good hard OTF . . .

sunvalleylaw

• Baller

after starting to ski the course again today. Though I was not going nearly as fast, nor at nearly as short a line, it felt like it happened similarly to that fall that was posted a couple weeks ago. No injuries though. Got tucked enough to go in on and over the top of my head after tumbling a time or two.

I was wondering when and if I might experience that. Well, if you aren't falling, you aren't going for it I guess.

after I took one of those earlier this year I decided to back the speed back down for a bit. I've never done a front flip before I had the help of a GT-40. I think a fall like that could be my last- I always tell my ski partner I'm one fall away from being a surfer. Fortunately I haven't taken another since but it was enough to make me think for a moment "maybe I'm good just skiing at 30 mph for the rest of my life." I'm learning that speed is my friend but line load is not.

• Baller

I did one at only 30 mph on a long line back in July and was sore for 4 days. Left arm got stretched across the surface of the water as I got ragdolled into a somersault. Only good part was I had the GoPro on my head in the floating case with the one second stillshot delay. In Frame #2 you can tell my head is ahead of my hands. I think #3 is when my face is about an inch off the water. #4 is a few seconds after the crash. Somehow the ski clobbered me on the outside of my left thigh too.

• Baller

this was at 32. Yeah, no hit from the ski. Just tumbled straight out of the bindings and left it behind me. I was working on my newer lean vs. pull stuff, and making good headway, but then started focusing on making the pass rather than the form, as I don't get to course ski that much.