Ski Wing/Fin settings?

aswinter05

• Baller

Hey all. Sorry if there has already been a discussion about this, however, I'm very new to BOS.

I'm getting ready to put a different fin on my 65" HO Coefficient X SL. The old one didn't match. I've heard various things about the wing that goes on the fin (I think that's what they are referred to as). Some people say they remove the wing, some people swear by it. What is your opinion and what should I do?

I consider myself an intermediate to advanced skier. I'm strictly open water at the moment but after Coble Ski School I'm hoping to learn the course :) The fin I am about to put on the ski is an "HO Comp Fin". Also, I have the option to set the wing at 7, 5, and 3 degrees (if a fin at all). Currently I ski right around 30/32 mph.

What are your recommendations. By the way, thank you all very much for the support when I post questions. I can tell this is a strong community that knows what they are talking about!

• Administrators

@aswinter05 Wait! Hold on. If you do not have the tools and know how to set your fin, leave the old one in there. When you say does not match do you mean the color? Trust me if you swap fins and you do not put the new one very close to the right place it could really mess with your skiing. High level skiers adjust to the .001 and trust me .1 of an inch is like a freak'n mile.

You do not need a wing. It if is for running the balls at 28 off or shorter at 36 mph and for sissies like @ShaneH

Goode HO Syndicate   KD Skis ★ MasterCraft ★ PerfSki  

Radar ★ Reflex ★ S Lines ★ Stokes

Drop a dime in the can

• Administrators

@ShaneH

Well on Wednesday I ran 0 @ 39 with no wing. (stupid 39)

@jipster43

All I can say is try it. It is the easiest adjustment to undo. If you ski better great. If not put it back on.

Goode HO Syndicate   KD Skis ★ MasterCraft ★ PerfSki  

Radar ★ Reflex ★ S Lines ★ Stokes

Drop a dime in the can

• Baller