Set up help on '08 D3 Nomad RCX 68", also length question.

sunvalleylaw

• Baller

Hi folks! Newbie Steve here. I posted an intro here: http://www.ballofspray.com/forum#/discussion/5552/newbie-intro

I have skied nearly my whole life, and am getting back into more focused skiing after only occasionally skiing the last several years due to young kids. I purchased a decent used '08 D3 Nomad RCX 68" after loving my brother's 68" 2006. I am coming off a 66" Duvall that I have had since my wife gave it to me as an engagement gift a long time ago. Before that, I was on a 65" Kidder Redline. The Duvall helped me get more ski in the water and smoothed me out a bunch. Also, I studied the LaPoint/Suyderhoud tape from the mid 90's a lot. It has been my biggest influence. Based on weight, I could ski either the 67 or 68. I have the stock set up info from D3, but have to get the proper equipment to measure so I can make sure how things are set up.

Right now, as compared to my brother's ski, I feel slightly back on the ski. (update, no longer the case, got the binding dialed in. I also did the bets I could to get the fin and wing back to stock, using a metric ruler and some paper wing guides) I believe my brother raise the front of the fin a skoche. I may try that, or move the fin forward slightly. I may pull the wing off too for now until I can get a tool to check the angle, etc.

Also, I wonder about this length for me. I liked my brother's white top in this length, but am 185 plus or minus in weight right now. Not sure if I should really be on a 67".

Thanks!

• Baller
welcome, it's difficult to say without a dial caliper, and a wing angle gauge set. if it were me. i would maybe stick to moving the bindings up or back maybe 1 hole. once you get your tools the is a ton of info on fin adjustments. there are a ton of ski video's on you tube...maybe start with terry winter..good luck

• Baller