Idle Flare 1997 Ski Nautique GT-40

JC McCavit

• Baller_
Some time in the late 90's PCM changed the engine management software on the GT-40. The reasons where many and it totally changed the cold start sequence. Need to pull your cover off the ECM and check the number on the botttom of the ECM steel case. if it does not read 300-M you have the original calibration. If you have a buddy with a newer GT-40 engine 99-02 see if you cant borrow his ECM, hook it up and see if it correct's your concerns. If it does and you want a new ECM give me a ring I will gladly quote you on a new one. If you feel your concerns are warranted and the problem persists after the ECM swap you might need to get a service technician involved hands on.

• Baller_

The PCM part number is R116009.

I am a PCM dealer to my knowledge we no longer load new soft ware into the older ECM,s. As a technician I would recommend a replacement anyway because of the heat cycles they go thru and overall age of the unit. Some of these GT-40's are appraching on 20 years old, Like it or not I am seeing failure of these components on low hour GT's. last year alone we replaced 3 units for customers. Intermittent failure and pin decomposition seem to be the reasons for replacement.

• Baller_
I learned today through my engine starting issues that yes, thats exactly where it is. Its about the size of a Ritz crackers box only black. It will have a pigtail wire harness coming off of it plugged into nothing. It's where the ECM is accessed by technicians. How'd I do with my schooling?

• Baller
O.K. I am getting closer. I pulled the black plastic cover off and inside is a metal box. On the end is a tag with E290 printed on it. Is this the ECM? If this is the ECM, approx. how much for the replacement 300-M PCM part number R116009? I will order from Jody when I decide to perform the upgrade.

• Baller_