How to make your own ski?

Skifff

Hi!

I am fairly new to slalom water skiing and I would like to make my own water ski by trimming down my current recreational water ski have a better profile. What are the specifications for a slalom water ski?

Measurements that I would need would be e.g. width from 10 points or more , how much rocker the ski needs to have, angles of the sides and specs of the concave. 

Any tips on making your own ski would be very useful!

Thanks beforehand!

-Juuso N

• Baller

Wow, the go ahead from Horton!

Skiff, welcome. Many of the recreational skis come from the same or similar molds as the high end skis. Materials and flex patterns make a significant difference. So cutting down a recreational ski might not give you the perfect ski. However, you can learn a lot from taking a grinder (or adding some bondo) to any ski. Beware because you can structurally compromise the ski and you are at higher risk of the ski breaking during skiing. Some ski breakages can lead to injury, I've been lucky - none of my broken skis has hurt anything more than my pride.

Building your own ski from scratch is a challenge. It is not like shaping a surfboard - the loads require a much more sophisticated layup with advanced composites. You will need some kind of mold. You will need a vacuum or some pressure on that mold. Don't be too intimidated though, I built a mold out of plywood and used sandbags over a foam mattress for pressure and it worked OK. You will need some quality epoxy and some graphite cloth (and probably some unitdirectional as well). High density strong cores like pvc are shaped and pressed into the mold. Then the finishing process begins (top edges are surprisingly critical).