A-1 COLDWATER QUESTION

EF

• Baller

John, I noticed on the A-1 all you did was go with 9 thousands less depth. I'm curious what you'd recommend for water in the 50-60 range. I keep increasing DFT, which is what I think I should be doing to keep my radius tight? Any thoughts would be greatly appreciated!!!   

• Baller

I'll second that notion! Our water temps at the highest are maybe mid 70's and the lowest low 50's in the spring and late fall. The water is always faster feeling as it gets colder. Just got back from Florida and let me tell you that water is SLOW compared to what we ski on here or were skiing on here.

Jim you say you can't get as wide now that the water is colder, we seem to find that also, we usually add depth to the fin to compensate for the temp change which helps in the width department, but we usually don't start messing with that till were below 60 in water temp.

• Administrators

Typically I am not a proponent of cold water #s vs warm water #s. It is getting colder here in Bako and I am skiing like crap because I am cold. Like Jim, I am narrow but I am pretty sure that is because my handle control and strength are down in the cold. I was out running back to back 35s last night and was really struggling to be as smooth as I wanted.  A couple of times I pulled my head out and ran some nice passes but it took more concentration then normal.  Drop another 10 degrees and my knees are going to get stiffer and my strength is going to drop a tiny bit more.

All that said there is a change as the water gets cold but if you chase every 5 degrees you are never going to find your settings. On some skis I think DFT is very critical and would not move it for temp changes. Depth and length are generally more forgiving to change. When it gets really cold I tend to wheelie so I would be temped to take out depth but I believe that I wheelie because of the icicle in my rectum.