Radar RS-1 First Impression

• Baller
Let me first state that I was not overly enthusiastic about this ski.  It’s a 67†that I thought would be too small.  I had heard that it was “lively†– whatever that means.  It was a complete redesign of a current model and finally, I’ve been riding Goode’s for 11 years and have had no luck in finding a ski that performs as well.  But I’ve been disappointed in the 9800 + (SL) and thought I would give the Radar a try. I think the ski has tremendous potential after one set.  It carries speed off the 2nd wake unlike any ski I’ve ever ridden.  It carries the speed thru the turn very well also.  It goes 90 out of the ball as well as my Goode but maintains its speed allowing me to handle the load much better. I just ran four or five 28-off passes and never felt like I had to work hard to get the ski across course.  In fact, the ski would release off the 2nd wake without much input from me.  That was the most surprising trait.  I fell over at 1 ball on more than one occasion because I was “too-early†for the amount of effort I exerted.  This is the first ski I’ve ever ridden that felt like I was holding it back.  By that, I mean that the ski really wanted to go harder than I was willing to go.  Its potential for short-line is unmistakable.  I will ride the ski again tomorrow but will probably be back on my Goode for our tournament this weekend.  But, I will definitely be back on the ski on Monday which is quite a turnaround from my attitude prior to riding it.  I wasn’t even going to take it out of the box – I was going to give it to another skier to try.  I’m glad I had a change of heart.  I think I can run a lot of buoys on this ski w/ the proper amount of water-time to get used to its characteristics – the most apparent is how effortless it gets across course, holds angle and releases off the 2nd wake.  It’s a fun ride

• Baller